Full power - Reisverslag uit Pushkar, India van Ralph Dammer - WaarBenJij.nu Full power - Reisverslag uit Pushkar, India van Ralph Dammer - WaarBenJij.nu

Full power

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ralph

21 December 2013 | India, Pushkar

Dear friends!
As there is always something happening here, and I write with the speed of
a dyslect.. it’s been a while! I left Jaipur on the night of Diwali, which
wasn’t as big a waste as I thought it would be. Alban, Niels and I walked
through the city, firework occasionally enlightening our eyes and souls. I
expected a party on every corner, Indian girls defying their fathers
around a fire on the beat of my drums. Instead it was more a Christmas-like holiday, centered around the family; the only girls I saw were still
in their sari’s, with their fathers keeping a too-close watch for my size.
Around 10 we got back to the hotel, and an hour later I left for the train
station. Once there, I got in the wrong train, changed in the nick of
time, and slept my way to Jodhpur.
The TukTuk café turned out to be only 6 weeks old, making quite a name for
itself in that time, as the owner, Amit, was only too happy to tell me.
Over and over again. He ran the place together with Devendra, a clever
fellow of 18 (youngest to finish his high school, almost done with his
studies now). Deve and I hung out most of the days, playing cards and
chilling. From the roof terrace of the café you can see the Mehrangarh
Fort, a magnificent fort that is one of the biggest in India. It looks as
though the fort grew from the hill it’s placed on. After several days I
got quite bored, and went up the hill to see it up close. There are
several gates, one after the other, the last one, Loha Pol, being most
impressive I found. On the wall just inside are several handprints. These
are the hands of the wives of Maharaja (“king”) Man Singh, placed there on
their way out to the funeral of Singh. Once there, they climbed onto the
pyre and burned with him..
I went back up to the fort many times, but just to sit and enjoy the view.
Once on my way back through town I was offered some food at a small
temple. Turns out they were celebrating some food god! 58 different kinds
of food!! I tried about 8, all very nice. I was introduced to so many
sisters that I thought it must be a joke, but it was just a big, fertile
family.
I got a bit bored at tuktuk café, since not much was going on (Amit said
it’s because of Diwali, which is a 5 day festival). Once a year there’s a
big Camel Fair in Pushkar. It starts with a week more serious camel
business, then a week of party and such. And that’s where I’m at now. It’s
desert area here, so it’s very hot in the day and very cold at night. I’m
a little sick and weak now, so taking it easy. I’m staying at Sukha’s place, which is a big piece of land with individual round huts scattered around. It’s located on the outskirts of the town next to a hillmountain, which has a temple placed on it with big speakers blasting the chantings of the Singing Baba’s - 24/7! As a group they never stop making music. They switch around instruments and sleep individually, but collectively never stop. When I went up there, I was warmly welcomed, sat with them for a while and got some fruit too! The Place itself is very chilled (see pics), and so were the people.

Next I made my way south towards goa. I haven’t written much for long, so most details went up in smoke. This is just a little up-date, eventhough it’s not very up to date. I’ll write about goa and all some other time. Internet here is to slow for uploading lots of pictures, so I’ll just give some teasers.
I hope you’re all well. Take care.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: India, Pushkar

Bob's Will

Back packing through south-east asia

Recente Reisverslagen:

18 Februari 2014

Sukabumi

28 Januari 2014

Indonesia!

27 Januari 2014

Tamil Nadu

02 Januari 2014

What to do?

21 December 2013

Full power
Ralph

Actief sinds 28 Okt. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 288
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7810

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Oktober 2013 - 01 April 2014

Bob's Will

Landen bezocht: